Whether you’re talking, texting or getting GPS navigation instructions, the bottom line in California is it’s illegal to use a handheld cellphone while driving. According to Nolo.com law website, first offense California cell phone fines start at $76, with a second offense increasing to $190. With many ready made mounting options available…ranging from home-made & free to those well within the price range of first and second offense fines, it’s absurd not to avail yourself of at least one gadget. Placement of the mounting option usually boils down to a few obvious locations: Windshield, Dashboard and HVAC Vent. And for the DIYers…choices can get even more creative. Here are photos of a few options for visual perspective…linked to more detailed CNET review articles.
(Credit: Antuan Goodwin/CNET) [Read more]